Pathwright includes several role types that you can assign to your members in order to control what they have access to and to provide them with the features they need to perform their role well.  

Account-wide roles

These 3 roles apply to all Courses:

  1. Members can take any public or members-only Courses or any Course they're invited to.

  2. Library Editors can create new courses and Cohorts and edit all the courses in your Library. They can also access the Course settings and the Cohort settings (includes commerce settings). However, they don't have access to the Account Dashboard or Account Settings. 

  3. Administrators have access to everything and are the only ones that can view and interact with the Account Dashboard, the Account Settings, and the Account-wide Community.

Course- and Cohort-specific roles

Each course in your Library has its own set of members with Course- or Cohort-specific roles. For instance, you may have one member who's taking a Course as a "learner" while being assigned the "teacher" or "moderator" role in another Course.

There are 5 Course- or Cohort-specific roles:

  1. Observers have view-only access to all content, discussions, and notes in their Cohort; ideal for reviewers or auditors. Their progress is not tracked and their work is not submitted for staff to review. 

  2. Learners have access to all the lessons and steps in their Cohort and can track their progress, submit work, participate in discussions, and take notes as they progress through the course.

  3. Moderators can do everything a learner can do when they're in "Learn" mode, but can also switch to "Teach" mode, which enables them to access all the teaching tools. They can invite learners and other moderators to join the Cohort, get notified about questions, give feedback on grades on submitted work, view learner progress for everyone in their Cohort, and more.

  4. Teachers can do nearly everything that a moderator can and also use "Edit mode" to edit the path for their Cohort by removing, reordering, or adding steps and lessons. Their changes only apply to the Cohort they're teaching and don't impact other Cohorts or the Source Path itself. Teachers do NOT have access to "Learn" mode, so their progress is not tracked, but they can use Learner Preview mode to simulate the learner experience. 

  5. Course Editors are members who have permission to edit all the content (Source and all Cohorts) for a specific course or courses to which they have been invited. They can also access the Course settings and the Cohort settings (includes commerce settings) and create new Cohorts for that Course. However, they don't have permission to edit other Courses in your Library or to create new Courses. 

Mentor Group Roles

There are 3 Mentor Group-specific roles:

  1. Group Members are anyone who you'd like to coach, tutor, or personally guide across all the learning paths they take. They won't see any indication that they belong to a particular group yet (more community engagement coming soon).

  2. Mentors are responsible for guiding each member of the Mentor Group and giving them feedback on reviewable work. Mentors also receive in-app and email notifications whenever a member submits a step that's marked for review, even if they aren't a teacher or moderator for the cohort. They can also opt into a weekly digest email.

  3. Group Admins can add Members, Mentors, and additional Group Admins to a Mentor Group, manage their group settings, and create new nested groups. They won't be automatically notified to review assignments, but they can review assignments and leave feedback if they wish, and can opt into the weekly digest email.

Here's a table that lists all permissions by role.

Change roles

Do you need to change someone's role? See our article on how to manage the Pathwright member roles.

Billing for members and staff

For billing purposes, there are two categories of Pathwright roles: members and staff.

What is a “member”?

A “member” is anyone who has access to a Course or Mentor Group in the following roles:

  1. Observer, Learner, Moderator, Teacher: course roles are detailed above.

  2. Group Members and Mentors: group roles are detailed above.

You may set any member to “inactive” at any time. This doesn’t erase their data, but keeps them from signing in and doesn’t count them as a member in your plan.

All of our current plans start with 1000 members included. Check your plan guide for high-volume pricing.

What is a "staff member"?

A "staff member" is a member of your account who has special staff permissions, including:

  1. Administrators: have full control of everything in your account.

  2. Editors (both Library Editors and Course Editors): have access to create and edit at least one course under your account.

  3. Group Admins: can track progress and share feedback for the set of learners in their Mentor Group throughout all the courses those learners take and can also manage the Mentor Groups to which they've been assigned and can create and manage nested Mentor Groups.

Check your plan guide for the number of staff included in your plan and fees for adding more staff to your plan.

Did this answer your question?