For administrators, editors, and teachers
While on the Path tab of your course, either in the Source or in a Cohort with the “Edit” button switched on, select a step and then select Settings (the gear icon in the upper right corner).
You’ll see several options here.
1. Estimated time to complete
Add the time you expect learners to spend on this step in minutes. The time on each step will display to learners on the Path and roll up into each lesson, helping them to gauge the time they need to spend per lesson.
2. Require completion
If you make a step required (default), learners will need to complete the step in order to finish the class and receive completion status. If you do not make a step required, learners will be able to skip the step by clicking "Skip it" and still receive completion on the class.
When all required steps are completed, and all optional steps are completed or skipped, the entire course will register as completed, and if you have provided a certification of completion, it will become available at this point.
3. Allow retries
This setting determines when learners are permitted to reset their answers on any assessment Blocks on the step.
When turned on, your learners can reset and resubmit this step any number of times. Use this for a "practice" quiz or self-assessment that you want learners to be able to reset and take over and over. If enabled along with a minimum passing score, the learner will be able to continue retaking to achieve a higher score.
When turned off, your learners will be prevented from retaking this step after they've submitted it. Learners can reset and edit their answers only up until the point that they click Complete Step and submit their answers. Use this for single-take quizzes and tests.
Note: If retries are disabled, and a minimum passing score is set, the learner must earn a passing score on first attempt; otherwise the learner will be unable to complete the step, and if the step is required, unable to complete the course.
A staff member may manually reset a step or lesson on behalf of the learner in this case. See more about resetting steps for learners.
4. Show answers
When each question is submitted. Learners can see any answer explanations that you have added immediately upon saving their answer, and without completing the entire step and submitting all answers. They will have the opportunity to change their answer based on feedback before submitting.
When the step is completed. Learners can see any answer explanations that you have added only after completing the entire step and submitting all answers.
Don't show answers to learners. Choose this setting if you want to hide the answer explanations on this step from learners. Staff can still view the answer explanations to guide them as they leave personal feedback. Feedback is always visible to staff.
5. Award points
If you set a point value, the step will produce a grade item and will be tracked on the Performance Report download. If you do not set a point value, no grade item will be associated with the step, and the item will not show up on the Performance Report.
6. Minimum passing score
If you set a minimum passing score, then the learner must obtain at least that score in order to complete the step.
If retries are allowed, the learner will be prompted to retake until the passing score is achieved.
If retries are disabled, the learner must pass the assessment on the first attempt; otherwise the learner will be unable to complete the step, and if the step is required, unable to complete the course.
7. On completion
If points are assigned...
If you choose to award points after teacher/moderator review, then anyone enrolled as a teacher or moderator will receive notification to review and grade the step.
Any step can be graded automatically. For assessment types that would typically require review, like an essay response, grading automatically will simply award the points for completion.
If no points are assigned...
When there are no points assigned, the options are to notify the teacher(s)/moderator(s) upon completion or don't notify. The default behavior is "Don't notify."
8. Anyone can preview
If you make a step available for preview, then anyone who can access the public registration page for your course can view the content in this step without paying or enrolling once you make the course public.
Note that as Preview Mode does not include progress tracking, we do not currently support Preview Mode for steps containing assessments. Discussions will also be hidden in Preview Mode.
9. Password to unlock
If you require a password on a step, learners will need to be given the password and enter the correct password before they can view the content of the step.