A Teacher helps learners make progress through a Cohort by tracking their progress, reviewing completed work, moderating discussions, and more. Teachers can also customize the Path for their group of learners.

What is a teacher?

Teachers have access to view their Cohort Path in "Teach" mode, which enables them to access all the teaching tools. They can also use "Design mode" to edit the path for their Cohort by removing, reordering, or adding steps and lessons. Their changes only apply to the Cohort they're teaching and don't impact other Cohorts or the Source Path itself.

Unlike moderators, teachers do NOT have access to "Learn" mode, so their progress is not tracked, but they can use Learner Preview mode to simulate the learner experience.

Teachers can...

  • invite learners and moderators to join the Cohort

  • get notified about questions

  • give feedback and/or grades for submitted work

  • view learner progress for everyone in their Cohort

  • and more

Teachers are not counted as staff members for billing purposes.


How to invite someone to a course as a teacher

Note: if Member-created Cohorts are offered, and the Cohort creator role is set to default to teacher, then anyone can sign up to lead the course and will be automatically assigned the teacher role. Learn more about member-created cohorts here.

Otherwise, teachers will need to be invited to join a particular Cohort.

Method 1: Add to Path

If the person is already a member of your account, you can use Add to Path to instantly enroll them in any course in any role, including Teacher. Learn more about Add to Path here.

Method 2: Share

See instructions for sharing your course here. Make sure to select the Teacher role when adding or inviting someone directly to the course as a Teacher.


Change an teacher's enrollment

Switch to another role

Hover with your cursor over the teacher's avatar where it's listed at the top of the Path, or tap on the picture. Select the three dots (...) for additional actions. Select "Configure registration." Now select the desired role and save.

Remove from the course permanently

To remove a teacher from a course permanently, deleting all their data and progress as a learner, hover with your cursor over the teacher's avatar where it's listed at the top of the Path, or tap on the picture. Select the three dots (...) for additional actions. Select "remove from cohort."

Enrollments in other courses are not affected and the user will be able to re-enroll in the same or a different role.


Access email address

Hover with your cursor over the teacher's avatar where it's listed at the top of the Path, or tap on the picture. Select the three dots (...) for additional actions. You'll find the teacher's email address under the menu that drops down. Click or tap on the email address to send an email to that individual. Right click or hold to copy the email address.

To email multiple teachers, you can download the Member Progress Report and filter by role to get a list of all email addresses.

See an overview of all Pathwright member roles here.

Did this answer your question?