A Cohort is a group of people taking a course together. You can create a new Cohort to teach at any time. Each new Cohort will have its own name, its own privacy and pricing settings, a unique class roster, and discussion posts and progress limited to those learners enrolled in the Cohort.

Create a new Cohort 

Adding a new Cohort from your Home page

  1. Go to the Teach tab on your Home page and select the "New Cohort" button in the upper right corner.

  2. Click in the next box and choose from the current courses that are available, or type in a new course name to create a new course.

  3. In the lower text box, enter the name you would like to give your Cohort and click the "Create" button.

You'll be automatically enrolled in the cohort as the teacher when creating a new cohort from your Teach tab.

Here are those steps again: 

Select "New Cohort"

Choose an existing course from the dropdown menu, or type in a new course title to create a brand new course.

Type in a name for your new Cohort, and select the "Create" button.

Adding a new Cohort from the Source Path

Alternately, you can add a new Cohort while viewing the Source Path you've created. Open the drop down menu at the top of the Path, and then select "New" on the Cohorts selector.

When creating a new Cohort from the Source Path, you will not be automatically enrolled as the teacher. You can invite someone else to teach, or make yourself the teacher later.

Asked to upgrade?

Some plans limit the number of active cohorts you can offer per course. You may want to upgrade your plan to accommodate for more active cohorts.

Another option is to set old cohorts to an inactive status - to mark them as "complete." Completed cohorts are not counted towards your plan's limit. Cohorts marked as complete can still be reviewed by learners and staff, but have some limitations (learners can't mark steps as complete or post new discussions, and completed cohorts won't receive content updates). See how to mark a cohort as complete here.

You can also make a copy of any course. Your cohort limit will reset on the new course.

Next steps

Once you've created your new cohort...

  1. Invite people to take your course or invite additional teachers and moderators: Invite people to your course

  2. Adjust the Cohort settings and visibility: Edit Cohort settings

Did this answer your question?