For administrators and editors
A Cohort is a group of learners taking a particular Course together. Whether you're using one Cohort per Course or many, the Cohort Settings allow you to control the visibility of your course, the registration window, access window, pricing, and more.
How to adjust Cohort Settings
Open your Cohort and select the three dots (...) at the top of the course Path directly under the name of the course. This will open a menu with additional options.
Select "Edit Cohort Settings" from the menu.
You'll see a couple of options.
1. Cohort name
If you are using multiple Cohorts per Course, the Cohort name will help you distinguish which Cohort you are working in. Learners will see the Cohort name, so pick something that will make sense to everyone (Fall Semester 2025, Sales Team, Open Enrollment, etc.).
2. Who can join?
If you select Invite only, then you will need to invite learners and staff using a special invitation link.
If you select Members, then only learners and staff who have been invited to join a course or to sign up for the school using a special sign-up link will be able to see and join the cohort.
If you select Public, then anyone who visits your school will be able to see and enroll in this cohort. Note: if you have not set a price on the cohort under Commerce settings, then anyone will be able to join for free.
To learn more about inviting learners, see invite learners to take a course.
3. Enable discussion
Use this to toggle all discussions on or off for just this cohort. Defaults to enabled.
Use this area to describe the features and selling points of the cohort. This text is displayed on the "About" page of the course. See make a great course pitch to learn more.
Restrict the enrollment and accessibility dates for this cohort. When the close date is reached, learners and moderators will lose all access to the course.
Set or edit the price of the course. You can also manage whether this cohort is included in a subscription plan if you have a plan in place. Learn more here.
This will delete the cohort. Use with caution, as deleted Cohorts cannot be restored from the interface. If you delete the Cohort, any members in the Cohort will lose access and you will not be able to view their progress and grades later on. You will also lose any content that is not synced to the Source.
Add an "Access closes" date under Availability to close learner access to the Cohort without deleting it. Learn more here.