We do not lock down future content based on completion of earlier material or automatically lock content that has already been completed. However, you will be able to make steps required, and you can set a minimum required score. Learners will have to complete all required steps and meet all minimum score requirements in order to complete the course. 

Require step completion

Under the step settings, you'll be able to choose whether or not a particular step is required for completion of the course (defaults to required).

To complete a required step, the learner will need to complete 100% of the following activities on the step:

  • Assessment questions: multiple choice, checkboxes, tasklists, paragraph questions, etc.
  • File submissions (submit block)

Once all answers and/or files are submitted, the Complete Step button will unlock and they can mark the step complete.

We do not require any minimum number of characters per response and we do not track video plays.

Making content optional

You can toggle off "require completion" in order to mark a step as optional and allow learners to skip the entire step.

If you wish to make some assessments optional, put them on a separate step and toggle off "require completion" under the step settings.

Order of completion

While we don't enforce the order of completion, the path order is very strongly encouraged. For instance, the "Next step" button at the bottom of each page is always the next incomplete step. The Path itself opens to the next step for learners to take and collapses past and future lessons. We encourage it so strongly that it's unusual for a learner to go out of order, even though it's not enforced.

You can lock down material according to a schedule by setting dates. Set a start date on access to the course or on the registration window. Or set start dates on individual lessons and steps within the course. This will prevent a learner from viewing or completing a certain lesson or step before the start date is reached. 

When using dates, keep in mind that dates are set on the cohort and will apply to all learners in that cohort.

You can also lock content using a password lock.

Did this answer your question?