For mentors, teachers, moderators, and administrators

When to use "Skip Ahead"

Skip Ahead empowers you and your learners to use your time purposefully in two key ways . . .

1) Pass learners who don't need to do the work: Instead of rehashing things your learner already understands, you can skip topics they've mastered and move on to the next challenge.

Skipping a step, lesson, or an entire path will give the learner completion credit for that material. This is especially helpful for competency-based education programs where you have learners entering the program with various skill levels.

Joel has been using Pathwright for his competency-based program for 2+ years, and we think he says it best:

2) Help learners who are slipping away catch up: On average, between 10-30% of learners fall behind the weekly or monthly rhythm of a scheduled course. Eventually, these learners drop off because their "next step" is so far back in the path that they're either (1) feeling overwhelmed at the idea of catching up or (2) just not sure where in the path they should be to catch up with the rest of the cohort.

Now you can help these learners catch up by skipping any steps or lessons necessary to get them up to speed, and keep everyone in the cohort on the same page.

How to "Skip Ahead" on behalf of your learners

1. Open the learner performance report card. Staff members can access this card from the following locations:

  • Teacher or moderators: Open any course you're teaching to the Path tab and select "View Learners" from the course settings menu or select the "View learners" icon from the top right of the Path, then click or tap on any learner's name to open their card.
  • Mentors: Open any Mentor Group and click or tap on any learner's name. Select a course from their courses list, then click or tap on the course to open their card.
  • Admins: Open the account-wide Community screen from your admin Dashboard or from the main menu. Click or tap on any learner's name, select a course from their courses list, then click or tap on the course to open their card.

2. Click or tap the "more" icon (...) to the right of any step or lesson on the performance report card. This will give you the option to...

  • Skip: mark as skipped; the learner will not be required to complete this step or lesson.
  • Reset skip (for steps previously skipped by a staff member): mark as incomplete; the learner will be required to complete this step or lesson.
  • Reset completion (for steps that learners previously completed): mark as incomplete; the learner will be required to complete this step or lesson.


How it works

Track skipped items

We'll show who skipped a particular step. A step or lesson will display as "Skipped" if the learner completed it or "Skipped by {staff name}" if a staff member skipped it. We'll show this on the activity feed and on the Review screen.

How learners and staff interact with skipped steps

Learners will still be able to submit answers on a step that has been skipped without changing the status. (For newer Blocks content only; doesn't apply to legacy content.)

If a learner or staff member "resets" a step, any learner input (file uploaded, text written out, check boxes ticked,...) will be maintained, not cleared. (For newer Blocks content only; doesn't apply to legacy content.)

Points will not automatically be assigned for skipped steps; however, staff members may grade a skipped step. If they do post a grade, then it will be factored into the grade totals. If they don't post a grade, no points are awarded. Posting a grade won't change the skip status of the step.

Skipping a lesson vs. skipping a step

Skipping a lesson will simply skip each of the steps within it. Resetting a lesson will reset all the steps within the lesson.

Did this answer your question?