For account administrators and library editors

Courses can now be copied quickly and easily using our magical "copy & paste" icons from the Design tab.

When to use a Course copy

A Course copy is useful when...

  1. You need another version of a Course that is separate but structured similarly or shares some content (a revision, translation, a custom version that a client will reuse with multiple cohorts, etc.).

  2. You have a Course that you'd like to break into several shorter Courses with the same or similar content.

  3. You want to use the same course in another Pathwright account. If you are an administrator of two or more Pathwright accounts, you can now copy a Course from your Design tab in one account and paste to your Design tab in the other account.

Both admins and library editors can copy courses within a Pathwright account. Admin access to both accounts is required to copy courses in between accounts.

When not to use a Course copy...

  1. When you want to reteach the same course to another group of learners. In most cases, you'll want to add a new Cohort instead.

  2. When you want to duplicate a Cohort Path. Course copies generate from the Source Path, so if your content has been built on the Cohort Path only, you'll want to sync your content to the Source Path first before making a copy or adding a new Cohort. Copying a Course in between two accounts only transfers over the content and branding: it does not transfer Cohorts, learners, or learner progress.

How to copy a Course

To create a full Course copy...

  1. Find the Course you wish to copy on the Design tab of your Home page.

  2. Select the ellipsis menu (...) in the upper right corner of the Course and then click "Copy". The status will change to "Copied" when the course is on your clipboard.

  3. This activates a corresponding "Paste" button at the top of the Design tab. After clicking the "Paste" icon, the window scrolls to the location of the duplicated Course.

To cancel a copied item without pasting it, select the X icon to clear your clipboard.

💡Tip: An administrator can paste a copied Course on the Design tab of any school account of which they are an administrator while logged into both with the same user.

Note: Collections cannot currently be copied. Existing Courses can be remixed in a new Collection, or you can copy each Course individually before adding to a new, fully customized Collection.

Course and Collection URL updates

The following URL updates are in effect as of December 8, 2021.

  • The Course or Collection slug (URL) now updates automatically when the Course or Collection is renamed.

    • All Course and Collection URLs now follow a new format: "name-of-the-resource-<resource-id>". Since URLs now reference the resource ID, it's not necessary for each Course or Collection slug to be unique.

    • "-copy" is no longer appended to the Course URL when a Course is copied.

    • Older (legacy) Course and Collection URLs will automatically redirect to the new format.

Did this answer your question?