From your Home > Design page, open a course that you have previously created or create a new course. Go to the Path tab, where you will begin to build a path for your learners. We recommend building your content on the Source Path and then syncing it to your cohort(s). The Source Path is the version of your Path from which each new cohort or course copy is generated. When you're editing the Source Path, you'll see a dotted background and the label "Source Path" at the top of the page.

Follow the prompt on the Path to create a lesson. Give your lesson a title. You can also describe in a sentence or phrase what your lesson is about. You will add individual Steps to this Lesson to guide your learners step-by-step through the content. 

Follow the new prompt that appears below your lesson title to add a step. You will select the primary action you want your learners to perform and enter a name for this step. Select “Add Step” when finished. You will be able to edit, reorder, and delete Lessons and Steps later on. 

A typical Lesson might include a Watch step with a video, a Read step with some written content, a Take step with a quiz or test, and a To-Do step with a discussion or other assignment.

💡Tip: Each lesson must include at least one action step. 

You may also want to add some section dividers between Lessons. To add a divider, hover just above your Lesson and select the plus icon. Select “Add a divider.” Some examples of a divider might be “Module 1,” “Week One,” or “Romantic Poets.” Select “Create a divider” when finished. You will be able to edit, reorder, and delete these later on. 

Continue adding Lessons, Steps, and Dividers until you have finished mapping out your course, or begin adding content to the Steps as you go. To add content to a Step, select it. Any Steps without content will be flagged as "Needs content." Use the Blocks content builder to add your content.

💡Tip: Each step must include at least one Block of content.

You can easily drag-and-drop steps to reorder them within a lesson. You can also drag steps into a different lesson or drag entire lessons or topics to reorder them. Just hover over the step or lesson and click and hold the arrow icon to grab the piece you want to move. 

Follow the instructions in the article linked below to add your step content. When you have finished adding content, clicking the "Sync" button will make your changes visible to learners who are enrolled in the cohort(s). You'll see a red bubble appear by the Sync button any time you make changes that need to be shared with learners. 


Read this next: Design beautiful, interactive content with Blocks

Did this answer your question?