Start a new discussion
You can start a discussion on any step by looking for the "Start a discussion" button below the step content.
When the discussion panel pops up, enter your question and then hit "Post Discussion."
You can optionally upload images, video, and other files from your computer using the "More information" section.
Once you post your question, any moderators or teachers on your course will be notified and can respond. Additionally, anyone else learning in the course can view and respond to your question as well.
When someone responds, you’ll get a notification by email and in the app that looks like this:
Click on the notification and it will take you to the discussion. You'll also see a colored dot on discussion questions that have unread responses.
- Reply by email: You can also respond to someone by replying to an email notification. Simply write your response above the reply line and press send. (Just be aware that your automatic email signature will be sent with your reply unless you remove it.)
- Hide & show: On larger screens, you can hide and show the discussion window by clicking outside of it and then back into it (and you won’t lose your answer if you were writing one). You can also “dock” it on the bottom of the screen instead of the right side by clicking the dock icon:
Chime in on other discussions
As you take each step, you may come across two types of discussions to view and interact with:
- Course discussion questions: These are questions left by the teacher or course-creator for you to respond to as part of the step. You can also see how other learners responded by opening the discussion.
- Personal discussion questions: You can see any questions a fellow learner has asked by scrolling to the bottom of a step. If you think you have something to contribute to a discussion, it’s always helpful to dive in and respond.
Tip: if you’d like to get updates about a particular question that someone else asked, just hit the "Subscribe" button on the question and you’ll be notified when someone responds or upvotes.
Hit "unsubscribe" to stop receiving notifications.