For learners

When you join a course as a learner, you will automatically receive in-app and/or email notifications:

  • When a teacher or moderator has assigned a grade and/or has given you feedback

  • When a learner, moderator, or teacher has responded to your discussion post

  • When a teacher or moderator has set up reminders for start and end dates

In-app notifications

In-app notifications will appear under the bell icon in the upper right corner. Click on the notification and it will take you to the discussion or feedback. 

Click the three dots (...) to the right of any notification to clear it or mark it as read/unread.

Turn off notifications

Once you’re finished with a course, or if you don’t want to be notified about discussions in your course anymore, you can turn off discussion notifications for each course from your Home page. To turn them off, select the three dots in the upper right corner of the course and then toggle the discussion notifications to the “off” position.

Subscribe to the email digest

Sign into your account and subscribe to the daily or weekly email digest:

  1. Select the bell icon in the upper right corner of your account.

  2. Select "Turn on email digest." Toggle your notification preference from "Never" to "Daily" or "Weekly" and save.

The digest will simply send you a list of all uncleared in-app notifications.

To unsubscribe from the email digest, select "Never" and save your changes.

Manage your discussion subscriptions

If you’d like to get updates about a particular question that someone else asked, hit the "Subscribe" button on the question and you’ll be notified when someone responds. Select "Unsubscribe" to stop receiving notifications. 

You can follow any in-app or emailed notification straight to the original discussion by clicking on it. Once the discussion opens, use the unsubscribe button to stop receiving further notifications. 

💡Tip: You can also respond to someone by replying to an email notification. Simply write your response above the reply line and press send. (Just be aware that your automatic email signature will be sent with your reply unless you remove it.)

Troubleshooting

If you mark notifications as spam (or if your email server has an overactive filter) your notifications may land in your junk or spam folder. If this happens, you can bring notifications back to your inbox by adding the sending addresses to your contacts or by marking the messages as "not spam."

Here are the two email addresses that you will want to mark as "not spam" or "not junk" or enter into your contacts:

Here's an example from Gmail:

Did this answer your question?